Anniversaries

Today I celebrate two anniversaries. One makes me feel very very old. 17 years ago today, I graduated from high school. HOLY CRAP. I don’t have any pictures of my graduating self online, but this was taken the day I graduated:

Every time I see this picture I laugh. Why? Because I am wearing jelly shoes. My mother and I had a big old fight over those darn jelly shoes. She was not happy at all that I wore them to graduation. I loved those shoes. Wish I still had them!

Today is also my 14 year anniversary of working at The Hotel. I took this job as a quick hold me over until I found a job at a different hotel. When interviewed, I was told that they had just hired someone, but would call me if an opening became available. My boss liked me so much that by the time I got home there was a message on my answering machine asking me when I could start! I planned on staying about two weeks.

One of the desk clerks I used to work with once said “Heidi, you and Roxanne will only leave The Hotel if it is in a body bag.” I laughed. Sadly, part of that came true. Roxanne did leave in a body bag. I stop by her memorial garden here at The Hotel all the time, I do miss her terribly.

14 years later, I am still here and love this job more than anyone should love a job. I love my boss. He is like a big brother to me. We joke and laugh and tease each other. I enjoy doing things that drive him insane, and he likes to stand next to me poking me. We get a long great. I owe him so so much over the years. I have made many great friends while working here. I’ve been promoted, I’ve gotten lots of raises, there are things that need done here that only I know how to do. (As proven every year while I’m in Florida…phone rings “Hey Heidi, whatcha doin??? Watching Shamu. Oh, call me back when you’re done??)

This job has been such a blessing to me, in more ways than I will ever be able to tell you. I’m very much looking forward to my 20 year anniversary…boss is sending me to Europe!!! Six more years to go!

3 thoughts on “Anniversaries

  1. Wow, congrats to you on both fronts! Yesterday was my 20 year anniversary of graduating high school and today is my 10 year anniversary at my job. I don’t love it as much as you love yours, but I do feel incredibly thankful for what it has given me for the past decade.

Whatcha gotta say bout that?

