True Love

So, Crush and I have been having a debate over the last couple of days. We disagree on something (which is very rare for us).

True love: Once in a lifetime, or can you have more than one.

One of us believes that you only have one. If you were with someone and believed it to be true love, but are no longer with them, they were not your one true love.

One of us believes that it can happen more than once. If you were with someone, and are no longer with them, it was true love, and you will be able to find it again.

Where do you stand on this? I will be back in a few days with my response.

Thank you in advance for your comments!

3 thoughts on “True Love

  1. I don’t think I really believe in true love. I believe in the adaptability of love. Every epic life experience changes us slightly or more than slightly. We shouldn’t expect someone to be our everything all the time since we can’t even fathom what we will need in the future. I think the best we can do is find someone who wants to change and grow with us. I think it has 100% more to do with the willingness and commitment of myself and my chosen partner and much less to do with the idea of them being our true love. I also apply this logic to friendships.

  2. I agree with whoever says if you were with someone and are no longer with them, it was true love and you will be able to find it again. I especially believe this if you are no longer with that person because of their choices/actions rather than incompatibility. You can love someone with all your being but if they don’t love you the same way doesn’t mean it wasn’t true love (for you) it just means it wasn’t the right love! Everyone has a true true love and soul mate out there somewhere, some are just lucky enough to find it early in life 🙂

  3. I go with more than one true love. My husband’s dad died when he was 7. His mother remarried and is not very much in love….again. I would think she has had two true loves. Of course, other things separate us besides death. This makes me think of the Sex and the city episode where the girls are having lunch and Charolette says you can have only two (of course she is getting divorced from her first) Carrie gets upset because she has already had her two then. Now what? But I don’t think of it like that. I guess true love is what you make of it.

Whatcha gotta say bout that?

