Disney’s Hollywood Studios

This park is pretty awesome.  It was my first experience at Hollywood Studios.  Lyz knew exactly where we were headed the moment the gates opened.  In fact, she sent Chris to go get in line before we were all fully out of the car.  Then, we realized that Chris had the key to Joni’s scooter (she is still recovering from surgery, the doctor required her to get the scooter if she actually planned on making the trip with us—well duh she was actually planning on taking the trip!!)  I was sent to go get the key from Chris.  The only problem was…to get back to the car and scooter, I had to back around a million different partitions!!  So instead, I stood on one side of a road (with a cranky guard who would not let me cross the road) and tried my darndest to throw the key across the road to Lyz.  Have I ever mentioned that I do not have a single athletic bone in my body??  Lyz had all the faith in the world that I would make it.  I just laughed.  I wound up and threw…I did it.  I made it to the other side of the street.  Sadly, as it hit the curb it fell back into the street.  And while I did get the key across the street, Lyz still had to climb through a bunch of bushes to go get the key!!!  Oh-well, I tried!!  (To be honest, I was quite impressed by how far the key did go!)

We did two days at Hollywood Studios

What We Did:

  • The Great Movie Ride-Um…not a lot to say about this.  I was disappointed that my favorite movie only made it into the ride for like, half a second.  The ride is a good long one, that includes a plot, and a bit about some classic movies.  But, it is a bit boring.  If you are running out of time at the park, don’t cry tears if you miss this.
  • Star Tours-The Adventures Continue-I remember a similar ride in Disneyland when I went there when I was 10 or 11ish.  This is a Star Wars themed ride and was quite interesting!  Avery was shocked that I knew who the different characters were!
  • Jedi Training-This is what we had to rush Chris into the park to get in line for.  Only a certain number of students can train each day.  I thought it was very interesting.  Avery really had no concept of what Jedi’s are…but enjoyed it just the same!  After training in how to use your light saber, you fight either Darth Vader or Darth Maul.  Avery fought Darth Maul and was able to get her graduation certificate!
  • Indiana Jones Epic Stunt Spectacular-Pretty cool!!  It is a 30 minute show so it makes for a good break for your feet as you watch them set-up and preform cool stunts!
  • Muppet Vision 3D-I did not get the chance to do this, only Delaney and Lyz did.  Again, a 25 minute show.
  • Honey I Shrunk the Kids Movie Set Adventure-This I do not recommend.  Chris and I sat this one out while Joni, Lyz and the girls went and played after lunch.  It is a very large playground with a lot of people in it, and Delaney went out of Joni’s line of vision.  Panic ensued.  All was well, but it was quite a nerve-wracking experience and I felt terribly guilty for not having gone it the whole time.
  • Lights, Motors, Action! Extreme Stunt Show-Very Very cool!!!  My big piece of advice here is to make sure that your entire party is together before you start the trek to this show.  Lyz had stopped to get popcorn while the rest of us went to go get seats…they made her walk all over the place to get to the part of the stands we were in!!  The show is awesome, Lightening McQueen makes a cameo appearance, so if your kiddos are into Cars, make sure you stop by!!
  • Toy Story Midway Mania-This was one of my favorite activities in all of the parks!!  And honestly, if you go, you need to run straight here to get your fastpass for it.  We did not need to use fastpass for anything as we had Joni who was unable to wait in lines, but when we walked past the fastpass booths at 11am, they were already out of fastpasses for the day.  So get your fast pass early!!  Chris won out of our group of six.  Lyz and I did have much better accuracy than him though!
  • Voyage of The Little Mermaid-A live-ish show.  I think the only live actor was Ariel, but they bill it as a live show.  I love me some Little Mermaid, so I thought this was quite awesome!!
  • The Magic of Disney Animation-This was an interactive attraction where you could add your voice to different movies, or color the animations.  Quite fun!!
  • Disney Junior-Live on Stage–I enjoyed this, and I’m really not all that familiar with the Disney tv cartoon shows (we are bigger Nick Jr. fans!)  It included Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, Little Einsteins, and Jake and the Neverland Pirates.  This is interesting to me because, well, if Jake was a girl, and over the age of 18, I would totally think she was hot.  I found myself taking a second look at the character as Avery and Delaney got their picture taken with Jake!!  (I proceeded to refer to Jake as Jackie for the rest of the day)
  • Beauty and the Beast-Live on Stage-We did this show twice.  Beauty and the Beast is hands down Delaney’s favorite!!  Beauty!!  Beast!!  She would squeal their names every time we saw them at any of the parks.  Or on balloons.  Or on our silver wear.  The show is very cute.  Keep your eyes peeled for the random tiered cake chick and please figure out why they felt the need to add her??  Thanks.
  • Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster Starring Aerosmith-Dude.  Coooool.  Very very fun roller coaster.  Lyz had billed it as her favorite roller coaster she has ever been on.  The first time we rode it, Chris and I didn’t enjoy it all that much.  Why??  Because we were riding together, while Avery and Lyz rode right behind us and Chris had put the camera (expensive $$$ camera) in the little bag thing in the front of the car.  Well, after the ride started we realized that we were going upside down!  So Chris and I spent the entire ride with our hands grasping at the camera, which is kinda hard when you are strapped in!!  The second time we rode it was much more enjoyable!!
  • The Twilight Zone Tower of Terror-AWESOME!!!!  You drop 13 stories down, randomly!!  We rode this twice, and had a hidden Mickey sighting!
  • Fantasmic!-(Hint, if you are on the dining plan-to guarentee yourself seats for this very amazing and very packed show-make reservations at Hollywood and Vine for dinner, and they will give you a seating card!)  This is a fireworks/laser/water show that is very very cool.  Seating for the show does start 90 minutes before the show starts, and is limited, so plan your day in advance if you want to go!

Where we ate:

  • Hollywood and Vine-A buffet.  This was my second favorite place that we ate, I think.  I don’t know, they were all quite yummy!  I was having a total carbs day and they had lots of yummy breads!!  It was totally delicious!
  • 50’s Prime Time Cafe-This is an order off the menu kinda place.  As with most of these, we picked the most expensive thing on the menu and went with it.  This was a trio at the Cafe.  It had pot roast, meatloaf and fried chicken.  The pot roast and meatloaf were quite yummy, but I wasn’t a huge fan of the fried chicken.  If you aren’t on the dining plan so you don’t have dessert included, order just one brownie sundae to split with one or two other people, it is HUGE!!
  • I don’t remember any memorable snacks here…

Random Thoughts-

  • The two things you need to do first (if you want to do them) are the Jedi Training sign up and get your fastpasses for the Toy Story ride.  Send one person to get in line for Jedi Training and send another person with all of your tickets to the fastpass booths for Toy Story.
  • The parade here was my favorite.  It doesn’t have any princesses, but it does have the most current characters, especially ones from the Pixar films!!
  • This park is good for a day when you feel you need to go to a park, but don’t want to feel rushed or that there is so much to do that you will be overwhelmed.  It feels a little more slow paced!

And…PICTURES (Again, Chris took them, unless he was in them!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Whatcha gotta say bout that?

