Back from vacation

We got home yesterday afternoon.  I plan on spending this evening organizing my thoughts and my pictures for the blog.  I plan to do a post for each park (Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Hollywood Studios, Animal Kingdom, and Islands of Adventure) and a general vacation post.  For this post I just wanted to tell you all how much fun I had and how much I love my CLAD+J.  The trip was awesome.  Amazing.

I need to thank Lyz for all of the hard work she put into this trip.  This trip involved months of research and planning.  She saved us all thousands of dollars (FREE DINING!!) and put so much thought into every single detail.  We knew where we were going each day, where we were eating, what we should wear, and what we had to make sure to see or do on each specific day.  It was perfect.  So thank you my dear darling Lyz for all of the hard work, I know it was stressful, but because of you this was the most perfect vacation ever.

Each night I would lay in bed and write out a few things that I wanted to remember.  One night I made everyone else join me, but they didn’t seem to have as much fun doing that as I did, so I didn’t torture them with it anymore.  The whole trip was very peaceful.  Yes, we had moments where someone wanted to kill someone else, but they were fast and fleeting.  We are all pretty good at getting over things!!

I cannot share all of those moments with you, but that time I spend each night writing, reminded me how much I miss journaling.  Yes, I blog.  In fact, I have two blogs.  This one, and then one where I write sometimes so that I can get things out of my system.  The deep dirty thoughts that you don’t really want to share with the world.  But there is so much more that I want documented.  So I plan to start journaling again, and I will start with the journal I started while in Disney.  (reminds self to hide it better in my room).

I only had two sad moments.  One was while in Animal Kingdom.  This huge park (you can fit the other three parks inside of it) and I kept running into this little boy.  He was between 3 and 4 years old.  Brown hair, freckles.  Average little boy.  But he was wearing a Minnesota Vikings jersey.  The Vikings are hands down Jenn’s favorite team in the entire world.  If Blue would have been at the park with me, would he have been wearing a Vikings jersey?  I saw him all the time.  At least 15 times that day.  It was like I was following him around.  Like I was living in an alternate universe.  Like life was trying to show me what could have been.  At one time he was having a tantrum and I had to smile to myself.  His parents looked flustered and frustrated.  I wanted to tap them on the shoulder and tell them just how lucky they were to have him there with them.

I also had a moment at the beach.  My happy place.  I was more angry than sad.  I’m angry because it is still my happy place.  I’m so very angry that she has it tattooed on her arm.  That I have to share that place with her.  It is mine.  She cannot have it.  She has her own beach now.  I can only hope that someday she gets it covered, so that Ponce Inlet can once again be mine.  On the same note, even though I had that moment of anger, and even though it was freezing cold and raining the day we went, I felt it.  I felt the power and strength from that beach wash over me.  I felt it fill me up.  It reminded me again that I do have strength.  I will get through anything that gets thrown at me.  Just a few deep breaths of the air on that beach and I really felt whole.  While at Granny Franny’s house I spent a lot of time out on the balcony just listening to and watching the ocean.  I slept with the door open so that I could hear it.  I feel so different just having been there.

We were going down the elevator and Lyz said “You’d move with us, right?”  Her and Chris had been joking about moving down to Daytona.  I looked at her and said “Wait, you think I’m going home with you?”  I would’ve stayed.  I wanted to stay.  Instead, I will daydream that someday CLAD will move there 🙂  I choose CLAD over the beach, hands down!!

A short list of things that will only make sense if you were with us, but that need to be documented:

  • Follow the blue line
  • Uh-oh
  • Six months of planning, and we left it at home!
  • The Wicked Witch of the West Theme song
  • Soft Pretzels
  • Baggies
  • We could’ve just bought a bag of dolls
  • Pin Locks are important
  • Pin Lock tools are more important
  • Removable stickers are only partly removable
  • Timon gives good hugs

I could go on, but instead I shall end here.  I still have about 800 pictures to go through before I can start blogging!!

One thought on “Back from vacation

Whatcha gotta say bout that?

