Coming Out-Yes, I’m late

Yesterday was National Coming Out Day, but today I’m going to post about it. I’m always late, and the high level of busy-ness going around isn’t helping anything. Lyz and I were talking the other day about how each week we say “Next week will be quieter”. Next week never seems to come!

So…Coming Out (yes, this is stolen. Thanks 1 In Vermillion)

Are you open with your sexuality? I am! I didn’t start out that way. At my first job when I moved to PA I kept it very quiet. Only one person I worked with knew. After leaving that job I decided that I didn’t like it that way. People should know who I am, and if you don’t like me for it, then bite me.

Who was the 1st person you told that you’re a lesbian? Frances. We were sitting on my Aunt’s front porch, we were both living with her at the time. We were talking and I told her I had to tell her something. After spitting out the story of Jenn and I, Frances spit out a very similar story.

Overall, how difficult was it to come out? Not very. I did have one friend who simply did not believe me. My mistake for telling her on April Fools day though!!

Do you own anything with the Gay Rainbow on it? I have a flamingo that is Gay Rainbowed. I do have the equality sticker on my car. Lyz is way more Gay Pride than I am, she is the one who always reminds me when Pride is!

Do you consider yourself Butch, Androgynous, or Femme? I would have to go with Femme, but I’m not a makeup kind of girl.

What type of females are you most attracted to? I believe the correct term is “Soft Butch”, but I failed Lesbian 101, so I can’t really put a total finger on it!

What famous lesbian is your favorite? Used to be Melissa Ethridge, but she has made some life choices that no longer thrill me, so I will have to go with the good old standby of Ellen.

What is your favorite lesbian movie? Bound.

Do you have any Pride tattoos? I have a rainbow heart on my right shoulder/back. Jenn and I got them for each other as wedding presents. It will be changed eventually, but I’m not sure to what yet.

How do you feel about Gays/Lesbians having children? I’m all for it! I have not given up on this dream yet! Even if I become a single mother.

If it were legal, would you marry another woman? I’m not sure. I’ve had my heart ripped out, I’m really not sure if I will get to that point again.

Have you ever attended a Gay Pride Festival? I have! (Almost all of them with Lyz, see above!)

Do you have more Gay/Lesbian/Bi friends than you do Straight friends? No, not even close. Jenn wasn’t really the “Let’s hang out with the gays” kinda girl.

Have you ever personally dealt with homophobia? Here and there. We have had people quit at the hotel because of their religious beliefs clashing with my personal beliefs as well as the owners. There were a heck of a lot of gay employees here at one point.

Did anyone stop having contact with you after you came out of the closet? I cut off contact with some people for awhile. But everyone has come back.

Do you believe you were born a lesbian? The more I think about this, yes. I had wondered for years and years about it, but my religious upbringing made me push a lot of my feelings into boxes and hide it because I felt terribly guilty. I remember having a terrible crush on a woman on my Aunt’s softball team and actually crying myself to sleep at night because that made me such a terrible person. I tried very hard to be the person that my family wanted me to be, but I don’t think that would have ever been possible. When I met Jenn everything just felt right. I no longer cared what the world wanted out of me, I simply wanted to be happy, and Jenn made me happy more than anything else did. It was a relief to feel that way. Apparently I made the mistake of labeling myself as a Jennsexual there for awhile, she used it against me after leaving me, telling me that part of the reason she was leaving me was because I wasn’t a real lesbian (says the woman who doesn’t do the #1 thing that lesbians do in bed and was leaving me for a woman who was married to a man). But, now I can say, for certain, I am a lesbian.

Are you proud? I am. I am a lesbian, that is not all of who I am, it is a part, but it is a part that I am very proud of.

Whatcha gotta say bout that?

