One small step at a time

Last week I did something that I had not done since January 2008. I broke out my scrapbooking supplies.

I have been scrapbooking since my sophomore year of high school. Those first few books were quite literally scrapbooks. They held ticket stubs, letters, cards, the occasional straw wrapper from an exciting date, and weirder things. (The two weirdest being a turkey wishbone and my braces).

Then I found Creative Memories and became hooked on scrapbooking with pictures. I became a consultant and sold just enough to cover my own supplies, or sometime sold nothing at all, at least I was getting the consultant discount.

I would spend hours working on a single page. Tweaking and trimming until it was perfected. Then I would show off my hard work and put the page safely into a protector. I have albums full of these pages covered in my blood, sweat and tears.

Then when we lost Blue, I quit. This blog became my scrapbook full of memories.

Not anymore. I went to the basement and dug through boxes until I found the bare bones equipment that I was hunting. I found a scrapbook, adhesive and pens. I grabbed the shoebox that had been sitting on the shelf in my room and went to work.

Avery sat with me while I organized, attached and journaled my way through the last four months worth of scraps. Ticket stubs, the picture that I took to my haircut, cards and gift tags that were sent to cheer me up and show support, programs from Avery’s various activities, receipts from special dinners, and a whole slew of other scraps.

And when I turned to the next blank page, one that is awaiting a Dutch Wonderland ticket stub and Morgan’s graduation program, I saw the future. A future that I like. Sure, it is a blank page, but it is just waiting for me to fill it with my dreams. Fill it with things I want to do, things that no one can stop me from doing.

I’m on my own. Yes, I am still very dependent upon others, but I am on my own. I can do this. I’ve done this. I’m doing this.

4 thoughts on “One small step at a time

  1. LOVE this: “. . . I saw the future. A future that I like. Sure, it is a blank page, but it is just waiting for me to fill it with my dreams. Fill it with things I want to do, things that no one can stop me from doing.” You go, girl!

  2. love this! Wishing you lots of great adventures that you can record in all of your great memory books!

Whatcha gotta say bout that?

