Just the two of us

I have known Lyz since 1998.  I would have to really think about it to name 5 times where just the two of us have hung out.  We have lived together for almost three months and the most time just the two of us have alone is typically spent in the car on the way to work.

Lyz had a medical thing yesterday for her back and I had the honor of picking her up afterward (Chris and I traded off this position so that he could go pick up Avery from school and then go to the gym). Lyz was soooo cute in her drugged up state!!  We had planned on going to the local used book sale and then she mentioned she was hungry.  As we were pulling up to turn left, it hit me that to the right was SWMNBN and mine’s most frequented restaurant.  Chris hates it, so there has never been a reason to go…until now.  So, Lyz and I went and checked another first off my list.  We ate yummy Mexican food and drank yummy daiquiri’s and ate yummy fried ice cream and of course guacamole.  (I will have to do a whole post on the fact that soon Lyz and I are going to turn into avocados).  Thanks to her drugged state she was the most entertaining lunch companion I have ever had.  Every time the waitress sat food in front of us her eyes would light up like she had never seen such wonderful food before!  As we were looking over the menu she leaned over the table and whispered “can we get fried ice cream????”  Now I know where the girls get their “I dare you to say no to this look” look from!!

Then we left for the library.  I don’t know what made me do it, but I went slightly out of my way.  An out of my way that took me past the turn to our old house.  It is empty now, as I know SWMNBN is long gone to Florida, but as we approached the turn I muttered “Don’t turn Heidi”.  Lyz (who was still high and now slightly tipsy to boot) checked to see if that is what I had said and agreed “Don’t turn Heidi”.  I held it together.  Only a few tears fell.

We made it to the library and had fun looking through all the books.  We spent a total of $17 and left with a full box and an armful.  I was able to pick up my favorite Stephen King book and an autographed copy of Barbara Bush’s autobiography.

I am so thankful for my Lyz.  She is my glue right now.  She sees when I am having a weak moment and is right there to hold me together.  I am grateful that we were able to spend the afternoon together, even if she might not remember some of it.

I love you Lyz!

One thought on “Just the two of us

  1. I don’t know Liz but I LOVE YOU LIZ……..Just so glad you have such a good friend for you when you need her!

Whatcha gotta say bout that?

