Do you ever…

Sit in the quiet, pretending that you are going to meditate, but can simply not clear your mind?  I went to the used book store at the library today after work.  On my way I out stopped in the cafe and they had a delicious looking veggie platter, so I bought it.  As I loaded my books in the car I looked at the park that surrounds the library.  I sighed to myself remembering that Jenn is working until 1am and decided to go for a walk through the park (much more interesting than the walks I take though our apartment complex when Jenn is working at night).  I locked my car, grabbed my veggies and set off.

The park is beautiful.  The weather is beautiful.  The leaves were extra crunchy making the sounds of my footsteps all musical.

I found a park bench and sat down.  I decided to just listen for a moment.  I could hear kids laughing, the sounds of the skateboard riders gliding along.

I couldn’t make my head peaceful though.  Thoughts were running as fast as can be.

And then it hit me.

I’m happy.  All those thoughts running around are happy thoughts.  Well, there are of course the I miss Blue thoughts and other various typical sad thoughts, but the majority of them are very happy.

I love my wife.  I love our life.  Are there things I would change?  Sure, wouldn’t everyone.  I could use a few million dollars and a fertile womb, but in reality, what I have now is wonderful.

I have the worlds best wife.

I have the worlds best friends.

I have the worlds best family.

I have two rocking nieces who make me smile daily, even if I don’t see them.

Happiness is simple.  Sometimes we spend too much time worrying about what we want.

I’ll leave you with a simple quote:

“Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.”

-John Lennon

2 thoughts on “Do you ever…

Whatcha gotta say bout that?

