File Under: Things I should have learned in elementary school.

Two things you need to know for this story to make sense.

First: I have a lot of hair. It goes all the way down to my butt. I’ve been talking about getting it cut for about a year now, but haven’t done it. I’m not sure why. Every time I think I’m ready, I decide to push it off again. It is quite unmanageable, so I sleep with it in two braids. If not both Jenn and I end up choking on it in the middle of the night, and it is a total nightmare to brush it out.

Second: My current obsession is free samples. I spend about an hour a day combing through websites and getting all the free samples I possibly can sent to me (and Lyz and Joni). It is a great conversation starter. “What samples did you get in the mail today?” Some things are really dumb, and some are quite neat.

So, the other day I got a free pack of gum in the mail. I decided to try a piece last night. I’m not typically a gum chewer. I can chew it for a few minutes, but it typically ends up making me gag, so I spit it out. Apparently the spitting out happened when I was asleep.

Yup. I woke up this morning with gum stuck to the back of my head. Right at the base, right between the two braids. I spent an hour this morning trying to remove it. All by myself. Jenn had left for work at 4:30am. I tried vegetable oil, ice, Pam, and goo gone. Nope. Nothing worked, and I had to get to work.

I cut a chunk of my hair out. Guess my haircut is coming sooner than I thought!

(Yes, my hair will go to Locks of Love, it always does!!)

8 thoughts on “File Under: Things I should have learned in elementary school.

  1. I found it difficult to take a picture of the back of my head. (Almost as difficult as using a pair of scissors on the back of my head)

  2. OMG! That is terrible! How short are you going? Major change or just a trim? With such long hair you should consider donating it!…I have done Lock of Love a few times. I can give you the info if you are intersted.

  3. Oh no!! I am trying to figure out the moral: Don’t put it in your mouth? Be careful what you send away for? Always wear a shower cap to bed?
    I hope you get a fabulous haircut out of the experience and Locks of Love sounds like a great idea…as long as they can cut around the gum 😉

  4. You didn’t tell me this!!!!! LOL
    Beth- I want her and will be suggesting she get a major change. I am picturing shoulder length with long layers and sideswept bangs but I have to get Heidi on board =)

    Lyz

Whatcha gotta say bout that?

