Deep Thoughts, by Heidi Mingo

I’m currently reading two books, at the same time. This is not normally something I do. It isn’t because I can’t, I can totally keep two plots separate, it is because one is too deep so I need the other for some occasional fluff.

So I guess I’ll start by thanking Amy. I first met Amy out in Idaho. I like to introduce her to people as “the girl who once made me think I was going to get arrested in the back of a pickup truck.” Jenn has been doing odd jobs at Amy’s family’s house this Summer for some extra income. Amy sent home with Jenn a copy of Tori Spelling’s book sTORI Telling. At the time I was out of books to read, having finished two new vampire dramas and a book about kids with wings, so I picked up the book and read it. In 4 hours. It isn’t by any means a moving autobiography, but it was a great read. Quite entertaining and slightly eye opening.

So when Jenn took me to the bookstore the other day (to celebrate the unemployment extension going through) I saw Tori’s second book Mommywood in the discount bin. Picked it up right away. I also picked up Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.

When we got home I picked up Eat Pray Love first. I figured with all of the vampire/werewolf/kids with wings books I had been reading, I should start with the more thought provoking book I had purchased. Yes, I realize that I am way behind the times and that every single book club in America has already devoted many a night to reading and discussing this book. It is even a motion picture now. But it just arrived in the discount bin ya’ll. I made it through about 8 beads/tales/chapters, and had to put it down. I was crying on the inside. Gilbert had already said so many things that had hit home and made me pause to think about me, who I am, who I was, and who I REALLY want to be.

Now I’m not typically a mainstream reader. Yes, I adore Harry Potter, Twilight and the Southern Vampire Series (and now add in the kids with wings series), but I always put off reading them because I didn’t want to become another number in the herd of cattle. Same with books like Eat Pray Love (such as all The Girl With______books, and anything Oprah tells us to read, although I have read Anna Karenina) But I didn’t start reading any of these books until years after everyone was done talking about them. I joined all the bandwagons late so to say.

Now I totally wish I would have read Eat Pray Love while everyone else had. I kinda want to talk about it. But it is going to take me forever to read it. I read a few beads/tales/chapters and then I go back to Mommywood. It is just too much to take in all at once. In fact, before I really talk to anyone about it I want to finish it not once, but twice. I plan on going back with a highlighter and making and taking notes to the lines that scream out to me the loudest.

I’ve been telling Jenn I want a meditation corner since we moved. I have a feeling that Eat Pray Love is going to actually make that happen.

(and I still have the song from the title of my last post stuck in my head, I think it is going to drive Jenn insane here shortly)

4 thoughts on “Deep Thoughts, by Heidi Mingo

  1. B is re-reading Eat, Pray, Love with a hilighter. I have yet to read it the first time. I am like you, in I do nt like to be part of the crowd to read books. However, I did love the HP books and the Twilight books.
    I hope all is well with the gallbladder stuff. I’m praying for you.

  2. I haven’t read “Eat, Pray, Love” yet either, though someone recently recommended it to me. Now I’m going to have to go get it. I’m totally open to discussing it soon!

    Hugs,
    Jo

  3. I know just where you’re coming from!! I just read The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo because I found it in the bargain bin and couldn’t find anything else to buy. I was like, “All right, FINE. I’ll read it!!” I can’t tell you how many times I’ve picked up Eat, Pray, Love but haven’t read it yet.

    I’m moving it to the top of my list . . .

  4. I, too, would love to discuss Eat, Pray, Love via virtual book club. If anyone decides to do this, I’m in.

Whatcha gotta say bout that?

