Sing it with me

(I’m bringing home a baby bumble bee, won’t my mommy be so proud of me. I’m now cursed to have this in my head the rest of the day. But that is the song I hear in my head when I am proud of myself for something.)

We have gone to the gym every day this week. On Monday I did a mile on the treadmill on a 1.0 incline in twenty minutes. I was on cloud nine I was so proud of me. The last few minutes I thought I was going to die because my heel hurt, I knew a blister was going to happen. I am the girl who has worn nothing but Crocs for three years (except to funerals, I have a pair of dress shoes for funerals). I must tell you that I was even prouder of myself when I got to the locker room to change for water aerobics and looked down at my sock to see it soaked in blood. I am a pain wuss normally, so I was quite proud of me for hanging on for those last few minutes to complete my mile.

Tuesday I had all intentions of repeating that mile. I hopped up on the treadmill (heel covered in bandaids and tall socks) and was instantly in pain. “You can ignore it” I told myself. Five minutes later I realized my head was pounding because I was gritting my teeth so bad. So, I quit. And was less proud of myself.

But, Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday we have done deep water aerobics all three nights. Monday I was was all excited. It kicked my arse. If you think that water aerobics is easy, well I spit on you. At least there was a lot of laughter as Jenn, Joni and I all did flips and twists and turns while trying to balance a volleyball between our knees and do crunches. Tuesday it kicked my arse even harder. Lyz joined us and I warned her to pee before she got in the pool. We laughed some more and by the time I got home I was chanting “I feel my core!!”. We decided to give our bodies a break for Wednesday night and do shallow.

Come Wednesday morning I could barely move. I whined and moaned and rolled around in the bed trying to be comfortable. Jenn mentioned that maybe we should take the night off completely and the most interesting thing happened. I got cranky!!! It took me awhile to figure out the root of the cranky, but I realized that I really wanted to go to the gym!! So we got up and went. I am so proud of us!! No more being enablers to each other 🙂

And even better, we still did deep!! It was the hardest of all three nights I believe. Jenn and I even stayed after because there was this one part I could not do and she helped me figure it out and be able to do it so I am ready the next time they say “Stand on the dumbbell!!”

I’ve also started a journal. From now until we get back from Florida I am simply keeping track of what activities I do, and how I feel about the day in general. When we get back from Florida I will start tracking my weight. I’m excited. Cover of People Magazine, HERE I COME!!!

7 thoughts on “Sing it with me

  1. I’m proud of you too! and Happy for you!
    Feels good to be active… Who knew? lol…
    I wrote a similar post today 🙂

  2. Sounds like a wonderful new program. It’s awesome when you turn that corner and want to go work out! 🙂

  3. I do stretching exercises in my bed. I stretch out and watch TV. It does nothing for my figure but I never get sore.

Whatcha gotta say bout that?

