Birthday Cake and the Fair

I moved to Pennsylvania in 1997.  I have had 12 birthdays before this one while living here.  I have not had a birthday cake for any of those 12 years.  Last year after my birthday I demanded that I get a cake this year.  Jenn made sure it happened!!

Avery and Delaney helped me blow out the candles:

Mmmmmm cake. Even better…ice cream cake!!! Even better better….ice cream cake with a beautiful flamingo on it!! Even better better better…Jenn bought extra crunchies…yummy to the max!

Everyone (Joni, Chris, Lyz, Avery, Delaney, my Dad, my Mom, my brother and Jenn went in together to get me a gift. I am honestly blown away by everyone’s generosity. They got me a gift certificate for laser hair removal. I have a nasty nasty facial hair problem. I have always said that if given the choice I would get laser hair removal before liposuction, or a tummy tuck or any other type of thing. But everyone knows that I would never actually spend money to get it done. Now I have no excuse not to. Jenn even made me an appointment on Monday for a consultation. I am both very very excited, and slightly nervous. I’m so not into pain!! But this pain will be very much worth it as a huge self esteem boost and a wonderful gift from my whole family!!

After cake we all bundled up and headed to the New Holland Fair. This is total peak fair season in good ole Lancaster County. Almost every town has its own fair complete with farm animals, rides, yummy food and blue ribbons. Another year has passed where I didn’t enter any baked goods into the fair, maybe next year.
And I’m not joking about the bundled up part. Delaney didn’t know what to do with all the extra bundling…she just kinda looked at us all like “Um…a few days ago I was in a bathing suit, WHAT is this getup?:

We Avery won several goldfish!


Avery rode a few rides:


And we filled our tummies:



Then we played a few games…Chris is such a sweetheart!! He tried to win me this flamingo:

Lately I have had sort of an attitude adjustment. I have come to realize that I am a very lucky girl. My life is as perfect as it could possibly be, even with all of the negatives (no baby on earth, Jenn without a job etc.) I am happy. I smile every day. I am surrounded by people who love me unconditionally. Life is good.

10 thoughts on “Birthday Cake and the Fair

  1. Happy Birthday Heidi!! No, you don’t know me, but I just decided to see if anyone else posted “Happy Birthday to Me” and hey, we’re not alone. So, I’m going to spend a bit of my birthday wishing others a Happy Birthday. Sounds like you had a great time with family and friends. I’m out going out for Mexican with the hubby later today… Yum!

  2. Hurrah for a flamingo cake for my favourite flamingo fan.

    You are blessed. But I still wish that Blue and Honeydew were with you, and that Jen’s last job had worked out a bit better!

    Hugs. . .

  3. what a fun birthday and outing to the fair! the sentiment at the end of this post is beautiful, im so glad you are surrounded by such love in your life! ♥♥

  4. I’m so happy you’re loving life. The cake looks yummy. The crunchies are my favorite part too. And the gel icing. Hope you had a great birthday!

  5. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I dont know you IRL,but read you daily…Last nite while out shopping seen the KOOLEST pair of Mingo sunglasses and thought of YOU! If I knew you or had your addy they would of so been YOURS! …If ya want to send me your addy they WOULD BE YOURS! no weirdo here promise…CRAZY southern Nana

  6. That is so sweet Sam! Thank you forreading me daily! But no need to buy me gifts…just keep reading! xoxoxoxoxoxo

Whatcha gotta say bout that?

